HSA Faculty and Staff

Department Chair: Ken Fandell
Advising Coordinator: Vivien Hamilton

Faculty

William Alves

William Alves

Professor of MusicDMA, University of Southern Californiaalves@hmc.edu

Music composition; computer music; alternate tuning systems; gamelan music; abstract computer animation.

Isabel Balseiro

Isabel Balseiro

Professor of Comparative LiteratureAlexander and Adelaide Hixon Professor of HumanitiesPhD, New York UniversityParsons 1282909.607.2661isabel_balseiro@hmc.edu

Contemporary writers and film makers of Africa and South America; cultural and race studies; film and postcolonial literature.

Kathleen Burns

Kathleen Burns

Hixon-Riggs Early Career Fellow in Science and Technology StudiesPhD, Duke University

The intersections of the environmental humanities and transatlantic literature from the mid-nineteenth century to present, with emphases in science and visual/media studies.

David Cubek

David Cubek

Associate Professor of MusicJoint music facultyDMus, Northwestern University

Conducting symphonic and operatic repertoire; research on alternative modes of orchestral training and music as an interdisciplinary art form.

Ambereen Dadabhoy

Ambereen Dadabhoy

Associate Professor of LiteraturePhD, Claremont Graduate UniversityParsons 1284909.607.7346ambereen_dadabhoy@hmc.edu

Early modern English literature; Shakespeare; postcolonial theory; East-West encounter.

Marianne De Laet

Marianne De Laet

Professor of Anthropology and Science, Technology, and SocietyPhD, University of Utrecht, Netherlandsdelaet@hmc.edu

Social studies of science; cultural anthropology; technology
and culture; video game culture; practices of knowledge-making; collaboration and management in big science.

Erika Dyson

Erika Dyson

Associate Professor of Religious StudiesWillard W. Keith Jr. Fellow in the HumanitiesPhD, Columbia UniversityParsons 1266909.607.0856erika_dyson@hmc.edu

Religion and science; intersections between social-change activism and religion; American religious history; and church and state.

Kenneth Fandell

Kenneth Fandell

Professor of ArtMichael G. and C. Jane Wilson Chair in Arts and HumanitiesMFA, University of Illinois at ChicagoParsons 1257ken_fandell@hmc.edu

Interdisciplinary arts.

Alfred Flores

Alfred Flores

Assistant Professor of Asian American StudiesPhD, University of California, Los AngelesParsons 1253909.627.0453alflores@g.hmc.edu

Pacific Islander history, Asian American history, labor, militarization, race, settler colonialism.

Anup Gampa

Anup Gampa

Assistant Professor of PsychologyPhD, University of Virginia

Social psychology of social movements, racism, capitalism and wealth inequality.

Jeffrey D. Groves

Jeffrey D. Groves

Louisa and Robert Miller Professor of HumanitiesPhD, Claremont Graduate SchoolParsons 1284909.607.7346groves@hmc.edu

Nineteenth-century American literature; history of the book; Shakespeare.

Vivien Hamilton

Vivien Hamilton

Associate Professor of the History of SciencePhD, University of TorontoParsons 1278909.607.7997vivien_hamilton@hmc.edu

History of physics; history of medicine; gender and science; disciplinary cultures in science.

Charles Kamm

Charles Kamm

Associate Professor of MusicJoint music facultyDMA, Yale University

Concert choir; chamber choir; music history.

Rachel Mayeri

Rachel Mayeri

Professor of Media StudiesMFA, University of California, San DiegoParsons 1277909.607.0461rachel_mayeri@hmc.edu

Experimental documentary production; motion graphics and animation; history of special effects; genetics and society; ecology and art; history of science and art.

Person placeholder image

Salvador Plascencia

Advising CoordinatorAssociate Professor of Creative WritingMFA, Syracuse UniversityParsons 1259909.621.8022splascencia@hmc.edu

Creative writing; The novel as print technology.

David K. Seitz

David K. Seitz

Assistant Professor of Cultural GeographyPhD, University of TorontoParsons 1255909.621.8022dseitz@g.hmc.edu

Geographies of citizenship; feminist, critical race and queer theories; affect.

Paul Steinberg

Paul Steinberg

Professor of Political Science and Environmental PolicyMalcolm Lewis Chair of Sustainability and SocietyPhD, University of California, Santa CruzParsons 1280909.607.3840paul_steinberg@hmc.edu

International and comparative environmental politics; policy analysis; sustainable development; biodiversity; political science research methods.

Darryl Wright

Darryl Wright

Professor of PhilosophyPhD, University of MichiganParsons 1268909.607.4478darryl_wright@hmc.edu

History of ethics; moral and political philosophy.

Emeritus Faculty

Emeriti faculty are retired faculty members who have been awarded special status by the College in recognition of their service.

Hal S. Barron

Hal S. Barron

Professor of History EmeritusLouisa and Robert Miller Professor of HumanitiesPhD, University of Pennsylvania

U.S. social history; history of rural America; immigration and ethnicity

Tad Beckman

Tad Beckman

Professor of Philosophy EmeritusPhD, University of California, Berkeley

Gary R. Evans

Gary R. Evans

Professor of Economics EmeritusPhD, University of California, Riverside

Financial institutions; small business development; enterprise and entrepreneurship.

Staff

Deborah Laird

Deborah Laird

Administrative CoordinatorParsons 1263909.621.8022deborah_laird@hmc.edu

Julia Hong

Julia Hong

Arts Directorjlhong@g.hmc.edu