Mathematics Faculty

Art Benjamin photo.Arthur T. Benjamin

Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Johns Hopkins University
Shanahan 2414
909.621.8688
benjamin@hmc.edu

Andy Bernoff photo.Andrew J. Bernoff – on Sabbatical 2017–2018

Professor of Mathematics
Kenneth and Diana Jonsson Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Cambridge University
Shanahan 3410
909.621.8687
ajb@hmc.edu

Alfonso Castro photo.Alfonso Castro

Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Cincinnati
Shanahan 3422
909.607.3171
castro@math.hmc.edu

Lisette dePillis photo.Lisette G. de Pillis

Chair, Department of Mathematics
Norman F. Sprague, Jr. Professor of Life Sciences
Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Shanahan 3426
909.621.8975
depillis@math.hmc.edu

Weiqing Gu photo.Weiqing Gu

Avery Professor of Mathematics
Director, Mathematics Clinic
PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Shanahan 3420
909.621.8929
gu@math.hmc.edu

Jon Jacobson photo.Jon Jacobsen – on Leave from Department

Professor of Mathematics and Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
PhD, University of Utah
Shanahan 3424
909.607.7690
jacobsen@math.hmc.edu

Dagan Karp photo.Dagan Karp

Associate Professor of Mathematics and Associate Dean for Diversity
PhD, University of British Columbia
Shanahan 3414
909.607.1264
dk@math.hmc.edu

Rachel Levy photo.Rachel Levy

Professor of Mathematics and Associate Dean for Faculty Development
PhD, North Carolina State University
Shanahan 2416
909.607.6019
levy@math.hmc.edu

Susan Martonosi photo.Susan Martonosi

Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Shanahan 2420
909.607.0481
martonosi@math.hmc.edu

Mario Micheli photo.Mario Micheli

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Applied Mathematics, Brown University
Shanahan 3410
909.621.8687
micheli@math.hmc.edu

Tori Noquez photo.Victoria Noquez

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago
Shanahan 2424
909.621.8896
noquez@math.hmc.edu

Mohamed Omar

Assistant Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of California, Davis
Shanahan 2418
909.607.2177
omar@math.hmc.edu

Michael Orrison photo.Michael E. Orrison

Professor of Mathematics and Associate Department Chair
PhD, Dartmouth College
Shanahan 3412
909.607.9709
orrison@math.hmc.edu

Nicholas Pippenger photo.Nicholas J. Pippenger

Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Shanahan 2408
909.607.1114
njp@math.hmc.edu

Francis Su photo.Francis Edward Su – on Sabbatical 2017–2018

Benediktsson-Karwa Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Harvard University
Shanahan 3416
909.607.3616
su@math.hmc.edu

Bianca Thompson photo.Bianca Thompson

Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Shanahan 2406
909.607.1560
bthompson@math.hmc.edu

Talithia Williams photo.Talithia Williams

Associate Professor of Mathematics and Associate Dean for Research and Experiential Learning
PhD, Rice University
Shanahan 2412
909.607.1262
twilliams@math.hmc.edu

Darryl Yong photo.Darryl Yong ’96 – on Leave 2016–2018

Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Washington, Seattle
Shanahan 2410
909.607.2844
dyong@math.hmc.edu

Emeriti Mathematics Faculty

Emeriti faculty are retired faculty members who have been awarded special status by the College in recognition of their service.

Robert L. Borrelli

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics; Emeritus Director of the Mathematics Clinic
PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Differential equations, mathematical modeling
Deceased, September 12, 2013

Courtney Coleman

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Princeton University
Differential equations, mathematical modeling

Daniel Goroff

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics and Humanities
PhD, Princeton University
Dynamical systems and Hamiltonian mechanics, mathematical history, philosophy and education

John Greever

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Virginia
Topology, biomathematics

Melvin Henriksen

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Wisconsin
Algebra, rings of continuous functions, topology
Deceased, October 14, 2009

Robert T. Ives

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of Washington
Linear algebra, topological vector spaces, convex sets

Henry A. Krieger

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Brown University
Measure-theoretic probability, Toeplitz operators, stochastic processes

Alden F. Pixley

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics
PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Logic, universal algebras

Alvin M. White

Emeritus Professor of Mathematics
PhD, Stanford University
Functions of several complex variables, humanistic mathematics
Deceased, June 2, 2009