Research Fellowships

The Kubota and Myhre Research Fellowships in Chemistry

The Chemistry Department at Harvey Mudd College has two research fellowships in Chemistry in honor of Mitsuru Kubota and Philip C. Myhre, emeriti professors of chemistry, in recognition of their dedicated service and significant contributions to Harvey Mudd College.

These Fellowships provide research support for Chemistry and Joint Chemistry/Biology majors to conduct research on campus with a Chemistry faculty member in the summer following their sophomore year, continuing through the junior academic year, and in the summer following their junior year. Summer stipends, academic-year wages, research expenses, and conference travel funds will be available. This year’s Kubota Research Fellowship was awarded to Daphne Guo ’19 in the lab of Professor Van Hecke.

Daphne’s project will continue the explorative studies of Colin Adams `19 determining binary phase diagrams of carboxylic acids containing from ten to eighteen carbon atoms.  While the specifics of the phase diagrams are interesting in their own right, the formation of eutectic, peritectics, solid solutions and the like, such binary mixtures have been studied as potential thermal energy storage media.  To use mixtures as energy storage media, understanding the energies of phase transitions is fundamental which is the driving force for determining the temperature-composition binary phase diagrams.  Daphne will continue the systematic study of the possible binary mixtures using differential scanning calorimetry and optical microscopy.

Daphne Guo, Kubota Fellow

To be eligible to apply for the next Myhre Research Fellowship in Chemistry, HMC Chemistry and Joint Chemistry/Biology majors in the Class of 2020 should apply to the Chemistry Summer 2018 Research Program and express their interest in being considered for the Myhre Research Fellowship. Upon acceptance to the summer program, interested students will be asked to complete an application form and prepare a short research proposal in conjunction with their faculty research mentor.  Finalists will participate in a brief interview, and the Myhre Research Fellow will be announced in March.

Questions should be directed to Professor Karukstis (

Award Year Recipients
2017 Daphne Guo ’19/Kubota Fellow/Van Hecke Lab
2016 Rilke Griffin ’18/Myhre Fellow/Van Heuvelen Lab
2015 Hannah Welsh ’17/Kubota Fellow/Hawkins Lab