Chemistry Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Sandra E. Brown

Sandra E. Brown

Visiting Assistant Professor of ChemistryPhD, University of California, IrvineJ1207909.607.4272sabrown@g.hmc.edu

Theoretical chemistry

Spencer D. Brucks

Spencer D. Brucks

Assistant Professor of ChemistryPhD, Columbia UniversityJacobs 2313909.607.3296sbrucks@g.hmc.edu

Organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, and chemical biology

Karl A. Haushalter

Karl A. Haushalter

Professor of Chemistry and Biology and DepartmentDepartment ChairPhD, Harvard UniversityJacobs 1218909.607.3928karl_haushalter@hmc.edu

Molecular mechanisms of DNA repair; Interactions of proteins and nucleic acids

Lelia N. Hawkins

Lelia N. Hawkins

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Hixon Professor of Climate StudiesPhD, Scripps Institution of OceanographyOlin 1261909.621.8522lhawkins@g.hmc.edu

Characterization of light-absorbing compounds in atmospheric aerosol

Colm Healy

Colm Healy

Visiting Assistant Professor of ChemistryPhD, Trinity CollegeJ1211909.607.7073

Physical chemistry

Alicia O. Hernandez-Castillo

Alicia O. Hernandez-Castillo

Assistant Professor of ChemistryPhD, Purdue UniversityJacobs 1222909.621.8793ahernandezcastillo@g.hmc.edu

Broadband microwave spectroscopy to study molecular interactions

Adam R. Johnson (sabbatical 22-23)

Adam R. Johnson (sabbatical 22-23)

Professor of ChemistryPhD, Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyJacobs 2323909.607.8450adam_johnson@hmc.edu

Amino acid-derived ligands for the synthesis of chiral transition metal complexes and novel ligands for the synthesis of heterobimetallic complexes

Kerry K. Karukstis (sabbatical 22-23)

Kerry K. Karukstis (sabbatical 22-23)

Ray and Mary Ingwersen Professor of ChemistryPhD, Duke UniversityJacobs 1220909.607.3225karukstis@g.hmc.edu

Spectroscopic studies of surfactant assemblies, host-guest systems, and drug-delivery vehicles

Matthew L. Kromer

Matthew L. Kromer

Visiting Assistant Professor of ChemistryPhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignK2333909.607.3908mkromer@g.hmc.edu

Materials chemistry

Carine Nemr

Carine Nemr

Visiting Assistant Professor of ChemistryPhD, University of TorontoJ1224909.607.6529cnemr@g.hmc.edu

Analytical chemistry

Gerald R. Van Hecke

Gerald R. Van Hecke

Donald A. Strauss Professor of ChemistryPhD, Princeton UniversityJacobs 1216909.607.3935gerald_vanhecke@hmc.edu

Thermodynamics of liquid crystals

Katherine M. Van Heuvelen

Katherine M. Van Heuvelen

Associate Professor of ChemistryAssociate Dean of FacultyPhD, University of Wisconsin-MadisonJacobs 2321909.607.9019vanheuvelen@g.hmc.edu

Synthesis and spectroscopic characterization of bio-inspired transition metal complexes

Hal Van Ryswyk (sabbatical 22-23)

Hal Van Ryswyk (sabbatical 22-23)

John Stauffer Professor of ChemistryPhD, University of Wisconsin-MadisonKeck 2333A909.607.3908hal_vanryswyk@hmc.edu

Solar energy conversion, self-assembling molecular systems, energy and electron transfer

David A. Vosburg

David A. Vosburg

Professor of ChemistryPhD, Scripps Research InstituteJacobs 2315909.607.9701david_vosburg@hmc.edu

Biomimetic cyclizations, natural product synthesis, green chemistry, and self-assembly

Emeritus Faculty

J. Arthur Campbell

J. Arthur Campbell

Years of service 1957–1987

G. William Daub

G. William Daub

Seeley Wintersmith Mudd Professor of ChemistryPhD, Stanford UniversityYears of service 1978–2022

Development of new regioselective reactions for synthesis

Mitsuru Kubota

Mitsuru Kubota

Years of service 1959–2000

Philip C. Myhre

Philip C. Myhre

Years of service 1960–1999

William G. Sly

William G. Sly

Years of service 1960–1992

Postdoctoral Scholars

Sarah Kavassalis

Sarah Kavassalis

Postdoctoral Scholar in Interdisciplinary ComputationPhD, University of TorontoOlin 1257Askavassalis@g.hmc.edu

Atmospheric chemistry

Staff

Daniel A. Guerra

Daniel A. Guerra

Laboratory and Stockroom ManagerB.S. and M.S., California State Polytechnic University, PomonaJacobs 2310909.607.2957dguerra@g.hmc.edu

Peter Sanchez

Peter Sanchez

Instrumentation TechnicianJacobs 2304909.607.5664peter@hmc.edu

Annalee Sendis

Annalee Sendis

Chemical Hygiene Officer and Chemistry Laboratory CoordinatorB.S., University of La VerneJacobs 2306909.607.4217asendis@g.hmc.edu

Kim Young

Kim Young

Administrative CoordinatorA.S., Chaffey College, PACE CertifiedJacobs 1209909.621.8092kyoung@g.hmc.edu