The Mary G. Binder Prize

History of the Mary G. Binder Prize

In 1997 the Mary G. Binder Prize was established by a gift from Professor Sam Tanenbaum and Carol Tanenbaum, his wife, to honor Carol’s mother, Mary G. Binder, and to express their gratitude to the College’s support staff. When Professor Tanenbaum requested the College to establish the Prize, he wrote the following about Carol’s mother:

“Mary G. Binder was for many years the personnel director of American Insulated Wire Co., a large manufacturing firm in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. She was a person who believed that the greatest virtue in life is to help others, and she practiced this philosophy in her interactions with other employees at work, through her contributions of time and talent to many charitable organizations, and in her relations with neighbors, friends, and family. She truly exemplified the spirit that we hope to recognize with this award.”

The Mary G. Binder Prize honors a member of HMC’s support staff “who combines a record of exceptional service with a truly helpful and friendly attitude toward students, faculty and fellow staff members all across the college.” [August 12, 1996 Memo from Professor Sam Tanenbaum establishing the Mary G. Binder Prize.]

To submit your nomination, please use the Mary G. Binder Prize Nominations form. All entries must be submitted by April 3, 2023.

The College’s Past Recipients

  • 2022 Lorena Gonzalez, Department of Engineering
  • 2022 Guillermina Limon, Office of Facilities and Maintenance
  • 2020 Debbie Laird, Department of Humanities, Social Sciences and the Arts
  • 2019 Viridiana Perez, Dining Services
  • 2018 Berenice Cortez, Dining Services
  • 2017 Teresa Nunez, Office of Facilities and Maintenance
  • 2016 Judy Givigliano (retired), Office of Admission and Financial Aid
  • 2015 Kim Young, Department of Chemistry
  • 2014 Deanna Huggins, Office of Facilities and Maintenance
  • 2013 Eva Gomez, Office of Human Resources
  • 2012 Irene Barela, Office of College Advancement
  • 2011 Suzanne Frantz (retired), Department of Mathematics
  • 2010 Patricia Rojas (retired), Dining Services
  • 2009 Mike Wheeler (retired), Academic Technical Support Services
  • 2008 Esther Hughes, Office of the Dean of the Faculty
  • 2007 Brian Butcher, Dining Services – Jay’s Place
  • 2006 Jesse Raymond, Office of Facilities and Maintenance
  • 2005 Kathy Morrison (retired), Department of Physics
  • 2004 Barbara Graham (retired), Assoc. Academic Dean’s Office
  • 2003 Rogelio Cabada, Dining Services
  • 2002 Barbara Schade (retired), Computer Science and Math Clinics
  • 2001 Michael Meyka, Audio/Visual/CIS
  • 2000 Patricia Lewis, Office of Admission and Financial Aid
  • 1999 Earlyne Biering (retired), Department of Chemistry
  • 1998 Esteban (Steve) Sandoval, Office of Facilities and Maintenance
  • 1997 Ann Villa (retired), Office of Facilities and Maintenance