Academic Calendar

Fall 2016
Date Event
Aug. 24, Wednesday Residence halls open for new students; orientation begins.
Aug. 28, Sunday Residence halls open for returning students; first meal – brunch.
Aug. 30,  Tuesday First day of fall semester classes; Convocation 11 a.m.
Sept. 5,  Monday Labor Day – most offices closed, classes in session
Sept. 12, Monday Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.)
Sept. 30, Friday Last day to drop first half semester courses; Last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.)
Oct. 14, Friday Fall break begins after last class; first half semester courses end.
Oct. 19, Wednesday Fall break ends 8:00 a.m.; second half semester courses begin.
Oct. 20, Thursday Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.).
Nov. 2, Wednesday Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.).
Nov. 15-18, Tuesday-Friday Pre-registration for Spring 2017.
Nov. 18, Friday Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W.” Last day to drop second half semester courses; Last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.).
Nov. 23, Wednesday Thanksgiving recess begins after last class.
Nov. 28, Monday Thanksgiving recess ends 8:00 a.m.
Dec. 9, Friday Last day of HMC, CMC, and Pitzer classes (Pomona and Scripps classes end Dec. 7).
Dec. 12, Monday Final examinations begin.
Dec. 16, Friday Final examinations end; last meal – lunch.
Dec. 17, Saturday Residence halls close 8:00 a.m.
Dec. 29,  Monday Grades due to registrar by 12:00 noon
Jan. 2, Monday Fall grades viewable on the portal.
Spring 2017
Date Event
Jan. 15, Sunday Residence halls open 8:00 a.m. for all students.
Jan. 16, Monday Martin Luther King Day, most offices closed; first meal – brunch.
Jan. 17, Tuesday First day of spring semester classes.
Jan. 30, Monday Last day to add full semester and first half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.)
Feb. 17, Friday Last day to drop first half semester courses; Last day to declare first half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.)
March 3, Friday First half semester courses end.
March 6, Monday Second half semester courses begin.
March 9, Thursday Last day to drop full semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.)
March 10, Friday Spring break begins after last class.
March 20, Monday Spring break ends 8:00 a.m.
March 27, Monday Last day to add second half semester courses (by 5:00 p.m.).
March 31, Friday Cesar Chavez Day, offices closed; no classes.
April 14, Friday Last day to withdraw full semester courses with a grade of “W.” Last day to drop second half semester courses; Last day to declare full semester course and second half semester courses Pass/Fail (by 5:00 p.m.).
April 18-20, Tuesday-Thursday Pre-registration for Fall 2017.
April 28, Friday Last day of HMC classes (CMC, Pomona, Pitzer, and Scripps classes end May 3).
May 1-3, Monday-Wednesday Presentation Days; no HMC classes.
May 4-5, Thursday-Friday Final exams for seniors; reading days for other students.
May 8, Monday Senior grades due to registrar (by 9:00 a.m.).
May 8-12, Monday-Friday Final examinations.
May 14, Sunday Commencement at 1:30 p.m.; last meal – brunch.
May 15, Monday Residence halls close 8:00 a.m.
May 18, Thursday All other grades due to registrar by noon.
May 24, Wednesday Spring grades viewable on the portal.