Summer of CS Socials and Events

Tuesday, May 23, 2023Summer of CS Kick-Off
Wednesday, May 24, 2023CS Chat w/ Prof. Dodds
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Monday, May 29, 2023Holiday – Memorial Day
Tuesday, May 30, 2023CS Chat w/ Prof. Wloka
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Wednesday, May 31, 2023CS Chat w/ Prof. Xanda
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Thursday, June 1, 2023NSF Responsible Conduct of Research
11:00 AM
Galileo Edwards
Friday, June 2, 2023Boba Tie Dye T-shirt Event
4:00 PM
In front of SHAN
Tuesday, June 6, 2023CS Chat w/ Prof. Bang
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Wednesday, June 7, 2023CS Chat w/ various student groups!
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Thursday, June 8, 2023Slide Karaoke w/ Profs.
11:00 AM
Galileo Edwards
Friday, June 9, 2023PC Building Workshop w/ Prof. George
SIGN-UPS CLOSED
Tuesday, June 13, 2023CS Chat w/ various student groups!
11:20 AM
Galileo Edwards
Wednesday, June 14, 2023Wellness Wednesday Yoga
Yoga Basics
8:30 AM
2nd Floor Sprague

CS Chat w/ various student groups!
11:20 AM
Galileo Edwards
Thursday, June 15, 2023Stauffer: Pride Event
sponsored by OID & Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Access Committee
11:00 AM
Galileo Edwards
Monday, June 19, 2023Holiday – Juneteenth
Tuesday, June 20, 2023Grad School Session w/ Prof. George and alumni panel
11:00 AM
Galileo Edwards
Wednesday, June 21, 2023Wellness Wednesday Yoga
Yoga Flow
8:30 AM
2nd Floor Sprague
Thursday, June 22, 2023Stauffer: Physics Open House
11:00 AM
Wednesday, June 28, 2023Wellness Wednesday Yoga
Focus area: Backs!
8:30 AM
2nd Floor Sprague

Student Presentation: Laurie Luo
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Thursday, June 29, 2023Stauffer: Talk by Prof. Katherine Breeden
11:00 AM
Galileo Edwards
Friday, June 30, 2023LACMA trip
Exhibit: “Coded: Art Enters the Computer Age, 1952 – 1982”
9:30 AM call time, leave at 10:00 AM
Summer of CS students only
Wednesday, July 5, 2023Wellness Wednesday Yoga
Chair Yoga
8:30 AM
2nd Floor Sprague

AMISTAD Lab Student Presentation
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Thursday, July 6, 2023Stauffer: Chemistry Open House
11:00 AM
Tuesday, July 11, 2023Making a Good Poster: Prof. Xanda
11:00 AM
Galileo Edwards
Wednesday, July 12, 2023Wellness Wednesday Yoga
8:30 AM
2nd Floor Sprague

Student Presentation: Zoe Shao
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Thursday, July 13, 2023Stauffer: Talk by Prof. Anup Gampa
11:00 AM
Galileo Edwards
Tuesday, July 18, 2023WHISK Lab Student Presentation
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Wednesday, July 19, 2023Wellness Wednesday Yoga
8:30 AM
2nd Floor Sprague

Summer Start Up Student Presentation
11:30 AM
Galileo Edwards
Thursday, July 20, 2023Poster Session, Open House, Decoration Contest
11:00 AM
McGregor
Wednesday, July 26, 2023Posters at USC for REU Students
All Day
USC
Events List

CS Chats

Join us in learning about the kinds of research our faculty do. These chats are generally held on Tuesdays and Wednesdays.

Stauffer Talks

Stauffer talks feature profs. outside of HMC, who give a talk on various topics, usually STEM-related. These talks are generally held on Thursdays.

Grad School Info Session

Want to hear more about grad school and what you can do to further your education / professional career? Join us on June 20 to hear more about grad school from Prof. George and an alumni panel.

HMC Poster Session

Near the end of the summer, our students showcase their research in a poster session! This is scheduled to be on July 20.

Discord

We also have a Discord server for Summer of CS! Please reach out to Chelsey Calingo, ccalingo@g.hmc.edu, if you would like to join.