CS Faculty and Staff

CS Department and Chair’s Office Contact

To contact the Computer Science Department or Chair’s Office please call 909.607.0299 or email chair@cs.hmc.edu.

For questions about admissions (including tours and meeting faculty), please email admissions@hmc.edu.

Faculty

Jim Boerkoel

Jim Boerkoel

Department ChairAssociate ProfessorMcGregor 309909.607.4522boerkoel@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Human-Robot Teams, Scheduling, and Planning, Artificial Intelligence.

Julie Medero

Julie Medero

Department Associate ChairAssociate ProfessorMcGregor 317909.621.8072julie@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Natural Language Processing, especially its applications to literacy education.

Lucas Bang

Lucas Bang

Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 328bang@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Combining combinatorics and information theory to software analysis problems. Recent work has been in synthesizing adaptive side-channel exploits.

Katherine Breeden

Katherine Breeden

Capstone Program DirectorAssistant ProfessorMcGregor 319909.607.3462kb@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Computer Graphics, Human Gaze Response, Computational Geometry.

Zach Dodds

Zach Dodds

Clinic Relations DirectorProfessorMcGregor 326909.607.1813dodds@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Robot Vision and Spatial Reasoning, CS Outreach.

Lynn Kirabo

Lynn Kirabo

Assistant ProfessorClimate and Computer ScienceOlin 1253lkirabo@g.hmc.edu

Research Interests: Human-Computer Interaction and Accessibility

George Montañez

George Montañez

Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 301909.607.9945montanez@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Machine Learning and why it works!

Melissa O'Neill

Melissa O’Neill

ProfessorMcGregor 314909.607.9661oneill@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Parallel and Distributed Systems and Programming Languages.

Arthi Padmanabhan POM ’14

Arthi Padmanabhan POM ’14

Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 321arpadmanabhan@g.hmc.edu

Research: Systems and Networking; Systems for Machine Learning

Xanda Schofield ’13

Xanda Schofield ’13

Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 330909.607.2105xanda@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Natural Language Processing, with applications to text analysis for the humanities and social sciences.

Chris Stone

Chris Stone

ProfessorMcGregor 320909.607.8975stone@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Types in Programming Languages and Compilers.

Erin Talvitie

Erin Talvitie

Associate Professor On Sabbatical 2023/24McGregor 323909.607.1381erin@cs.hmc.edu

Beth Trushkowsky

Beth Trushkowsky

Associate ProfessorMcGregor 318 909.621.8035beth@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Crowdsourcing and Databases.

Ben Wiedermann

Ben Wiedermann

ProfessorOn Sabbatical 2023/24McGregor 315909.607.5330benw@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Programming Languages and improving the Human/Program Interface.

Calden Wloka

Calden Wloka

Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 329 909.607.6833cwloka@g.hmc.edu

Research: Computer Vision

Yi-Chieh (Jessica) Wu

Yi-Chieh (Jessica) Wu

Associate ProfessorOn Leave 2023/24McGregor 316 909.621.8127yjw@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Computational Biology.

Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

Gabe Hope

Visiting Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 322 909.607.4522ghope@g.hmc.edu

Mark Kampe

Visiting Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 304kampe@g.hmc.edu

Carter Slocum

Visiting Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 327909.607.1610cslocum@g.hmc.edu

Naim Matasci

Adjunct ProfessorMcGregor 310nmatasci@g.hmc.edu

Emeritus & Memoriam Faculty

Staff

Tim Buchheim '01

Tim Buchheim ’01

Systems AdministratorMcGregor 305909.607.3485tcb@cs.hmc.edu

  • Department Servers
  • Faculty Research Servers
  • Knuth Accounts and CS Server Email Addresses
Chelsey Calingo

Chelsey Calingo

Program AssistantMcGregor 308 (main office)909.607.2715ccalingo@g.hmc.edu

  • Student Engagement
  • Grutor Logistics
  • Department Record Keeping
  • Faculty Service Task Assistant
Nic Dodds

Nic Dodds

Assistant Systems AdministratorMcGregor 304909.607.4136ndodds@g.hmc.edu

  • CS Course Server Setup
  • Clinic Equipment Management
  • Department Machines Management
  • DevOps Team(s) Supervision
Surani Gunasena

Surani Gunasena

Operations ManagerMcGregor 307909.621.8570sgunasena@g.hmc.edu

Oversees all projects in the department, both administrative and systems, as well as assisting with Clinic course management.

Kevin Herrera '17

Kevin Herrera ’17

Course Coordinator & Lab ManagerMcGregor 332909.607.0279kherrera@hmc.edu

  • Support for all CS Courses
  • Set up Gradescope, Canvas, and Autograders
  • Grutoring Program
  • CS Lab Manager
Morgan McArdle

Morgan McArdle

Administrative AssistantMcGregor 306909.607.0299mmcardle@g.hmc.edu

  • Clinic Management
  • Reimbursement Lead
  • Department Publications and Communications
  • Department calendars and room reservations