CS Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Jim Boerkoel

Jim Boerkoel

Department ChairAssociate Professor

McGregor 309 | 909.607.4522

Chair’s Office/Department Business: chair@cs.hmc.edu

Personal: boerkoel@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Human-Robot Teams, Scheduling and Planning, Artificial Intelligence.

Erin Talvitie

Erin Talvitie

Department Associate ChairAssociate Professor

McGregor 323 | 909.607.1381

erin@cs.hmc.edu

Lucas Bang

Lucas Bang

Assistant Professor

McGregor 328

bang@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Combining combinatorics and information theory to software analysis problems. Recent work has been in synthesizing adaptive side-channel exploits.

Katherine Breeden

Katherine Breeden

Clinic Administrative DirectorAssistant Professor

McGregor 319 | 909.607.3462

kb@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Computer Graphics, Human Gaze Response, Computational Geometry.

Zach Dodds

Zach Dodds

Clinic Relations DirectorProfessor

McGregor 326 | 909.607.1813

dodds@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Robot Vision and Spatial Reasoning, CS Outreach.

Geoff Kuenning

Geoff Kuenning

Professor

McGregor 329 | 909.607.1610

geoff@cs.hmc.edu

Research:  Operating Systems and Mobile Computing.

Julie Medero

Julie Medero

Associate Professor

McGregor 317 | 909.621.8072

julie@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Natural Language Processing, especially its applications to literacy education.

George MontaƱez

George MontaƱez

Assistant Professor

McGregor 301 | 909.607.9945

montanez@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Machine Learning and why it works!

Melissa O'Neill

Melissa O’Neill

Professor

McGregor 314 | 909.607.9661

oneill@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Parallel and Distributed Systems and Programming Languages.

Xanda Schofield '13

Xanda Schofield ’13

Assistant Professor

McGregor 330 | 909.607.2105

xanda@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Natural Language Processing, with applications to text analysis for the humanities and social sciences.

Chris Stone

Chris Stone

Professor

McGregor 320 | 909.607.8975

stone@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Types in Programming Languages and Compilers.

Beth Trushkowsky

Beth Trushkowsky

Associate Professor

McGregor 318 | 909.621.8035

erin@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Crowdsourcing and Databases.

Ben Wiedermann

Ben Wiedermann

Associate Professor

McGregor 315 | 909.607.5330

benw@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Programming Languages and improving the Human/Program Interface.

Yi-Chieh (Jessica) Wu

Yi-Chieh (Jessica) Wu

Associate Professor

McGregor 316 | 909.621.8127

yjw@cs.hmc.edu

Research: Computational Biology.

Visiting and Adjunct Faculty

Blake Jackson

Visiting Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 312bjackson@g.hmc.edu

Arthi Padmanabhan

Visiting Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 321arpadmanabhan@g.hmc.edu

Calden Wloka

Visiting Assistant ProfessorMcGregor 313cwloka@g.hmc.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Elizabeth Sweedyk

Elizabeth Sweedyk

Professor Emeritus

Staff

Tim Buchheim ’01

Systems AdministratorMcGregor 327909.607.3485tcb@cs.hmc.edu

Surani Gunasena

Clinic & Administrative Project ManagerMcGregor 306909.621.8570sgunasena@g.hmc.edu

Kevin Herrera ’17

Assistant Systems Administrator & Course CoordinatorMcGregor 332909.607.0279kherrera@hmc.edu

Morgan McArdle

Administrative AssistantMcGregor 308 (Temporarily in 306)909.607.0299mmcardle@g.hmc.edu