Physics External Undergraduate Awards

Astronaut Scholarship

More than 70 astronauts from the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab, and Shuttle programs are helping the United States retain its world leadership in science and technology by providing scholarships for college students who exhibit motivation, imagination, and exceptional performance in the science or engineering field of their major.

2023Lucien Tsai
2020Kaveh Gabriel Pezeshki
2018Nina M Brown
2016Calvin Leung
2006Samuel D. Eisenberg
2004Adam E. Pivonka
2003William Steven Kolthammer
2000Robert J. Walters
1997Whittier R. Myers
1995Carl W. Coryell-Martin
1993Leo [Parker] Dirac
1989Douglas E. Dunston
Astronaut Scholarship Recipients

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.

2022Albany Eve Blackburn
2021Anna Marie Soper
2016Jonas Leif Kaufman
2015Timothy Minh Middlemas
2013Sheena K. Patel
2012Lucas T. Brady
2007Peter J. Scherpelz
2004David Liao
2002Christopher T. Rodolfa
Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Recipients

NACDA/Disney Scholar/Athlete Award

1994Jason D. Rhodes
NACDA/Disney Scholar/Athlete Award Recipient

Phi Lambda Upsilon

1990J. Williamson
Phi Lambda Upsilon