Division of Student Affairs

The Division of Student Affairs coordinates programs, facilities, resources and support compatible with Harvey Mudd College’s academic mission to enhance students’ learning and growth.

Our staff is responsible for residential life, student activities, club advising, leadership training, and volunteering and community service. Along with close collaboration with other student services of The Claremont Colleges, we also oversee the College’s recreation and fitness facilities, career services, personal counseling and referrals, leaves of absence, accommodations for students with disabilities, new student orientation and commencement.

The DSA Resource Guide 2017 (PDF) contains information on our staff, offices and services.

Division of Student Affairs (DSA)

Jon Jacobsen

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
jacobsen@g.hmc.edu
909.621.8772

Leslie Hughes

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
lhughes@hmc.edu
909.621.8125

Lori Bassman

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Engineering
bassman@g.hmc.edu
909.607.4011

Kim Nykanen

Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students
knykanen@hmc.edu
909.621.8125

Evelyn Real

Administrative Coordinator for Student and Academic Affairs
ereal@g.hmc.edu
909.607.7916

Office of Career Services

Judy Fisher

Director of Career Services
judy_fisher@hmc.edu
909.607.2972

Paul Hardister

Associate Director of Career Services
phardister@hmc.edu
909.607.7826

Elizabeth Saelzler

Program/Employer Relations Coordinator
elizabeth_saelzler@hmc.edu
909.621.8091

Jason Jeffrey

Career Advisor/Employment Developer
jjeffrey@hmc.edu
909.607.0366

Office of Community Engagement

Gabriela Gamiz

Director of Community Engagement
gabriela_gamiz@hmc.edu
909.607.4575

Danny Ledezma

Associate Director of Community Engagement
Homework Hotline Coordinator
dledezma@hmc.edu
909.607.4015

Office of Disability Resources

Deborah Kahn

Coordinator of Title IX and Student Disability Support
dkahn@hmc.edu
909.607.3148

Office of Health and Wellness

Michelle Harrison

Assistant Dean for Student Health and Wellness
mharrison@hmc.edu
909.621.8013

Office of Institutional Diversity

Zachary Ritter

Interim Associate Dean for Institutional Diversity
zritter@hmc.edu
909.607.3470

Office of Residential Life

Leslie Hughes

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
lhughes@hmc.edu
909.621.8301

Michael Edwards

Assistant Dean for Residential Life
michael_edwards@hmc.edu
909.621.8794

Office of Campus Life

Leslie Hughes

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
lhughes@hmc.edu
909.621.8301

Christopher Sundberg

Associate Dean for Campus Life
chris_sundberg@hmc.edu
909.621.8757

Evetth Gonzalez

Assistant Dean for Campus Life
evgonzalez@hmc.edu
909.607.1479