Division of Student Affairs

The Division of Student Affairs coordinates programs, facilities, resources and support compatible with Harvey Mudd College’s academic mission to enhance students’ learning and growth.

Our staff is responsible for residential life, student activities, club advising, leadership training, and volunteering and community service. Along with close collaboration with other student services of The Claremont Colleges, we also oversee the College’s recreation and fitness facilities, career services, personal counseling and referrals, leaves of absence, accommodations for students with disabilities, new student orientation and commencement.

Division of Student Affairs (DSA)

Jon Jacobsen

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
jacobsen@g.hmc.edu
909.621.8772

Leslie Hughes

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
Title IX Coordinator
lhughes@hmc.edu
909.621.8125

Robert Cave

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Chemistry
cave@g.hmc.edu
909.607.4011

Nikki Ayers

Associate Director of Student Affairs
nicole_ayers@hmc.edu
909.607.1479: LAC office
909.607.7916: Platt office

Kim Nykanen

Administrative Assistant
knykanen@hmc.edu
909.621.8125

Office of Career Services

Judy Fisher

Director of Career Services
judy_fisher@hmc.edu
909.607.2972

Paul Hardister

Assistant Director of Career Services
phardister@hmc.edu
909.607.7826

Elizabeth Saelzler

Program/Employer Relations Coordinator
elizabeth_saelzler@hmc.edu
909.621.8091

Jonie Tsuji

Career Counselor
jonie_tsuji@hmc.edu
909.621.8091

Office of Community Engagement

Gabriela Gamiz

Director for Community Engagement
gabriela_gamiz@hmc.edu
909.607.4575

Office of Disability Resources

Dean Q

Associate Dean for Student Health and Wellness
deanq@hmc.edu
909.607.4101

Office of Health and Wellness

Dean Q

Associate Dean for Student Health and Wellness
deanq@hmc.edu
909.607.4101

Michelle Harrison

Coordinator of Wellness Programs
mharrison@hmc.edu
909.607.8013

Office of Institutional Diversity

Sumun L. Pendakur

Associate Dean for Institutional Diversity
sumun_pendakur@hmc.edu
909.607.1865

Office of Residential Life

Leslie Hughes

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
Title IX Coordinator
lhughes@hmc.edu
909.621.8301

 Michael Edwards

Assistant Dean for Residential Life
michael_edwards@hmc.edu
909.621.8794

Office of Student Activities

Leslie Hughes

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
Title IX Coordinator
lhughes@hmc.edu
909.621.8301

Christopher Sundberg

Associate Dean of Campus Life
chris_sundberg@hmc.edu
909.621.8757