Dean of Students

The Office of the Dean of Students coordinates programs, facilities, resources and support compatible with Harvey Mudd College’s academic mission to enhance students’ learning and growth.

Our staff is responsible for residential life, student activities, club advising, leadership training, and volunteering and community service. Along with close collaboration with other student services of The Claremont Colleges, we also oversee the College’s recreation and fitness facilities, career services, personal counseling and referrals, leaves of absence, accommodations for students with disabilities, new student orientation and commencement.

Office of the Dean of Students

Maggie Browning

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
maggie_browning@hmc.edu
909.621.8125

Christopher Sundberg

Associate Dean of Students and Dean of Campus Life
chris_sundberg@hmc.edu
909.621.8757 (Platt office)
909.607.1479 (Linde Activities Center).

Dean Q

Associate Dean for Student Health and Wellness
deanq@hmc.edu
909.607.4101

Leslie Hughes

Associate Dean of Students
Title IX Coordinator
lhughes@hmc.edu
909.621.8301

Michael Edwards

Assistant Dean for Residential Life
michael_edwards@hmc.edu
909.621.8794

Nikki Ayers

Administrator for Student and Academic Affairs
nicole_ayers@hmc.edu
909.607.7916

Kim Nykanen

Administrative Assistant
knykanen@hmc.edu
909.621.8125

Office of Community Engagement

Gabriela Gamiz

Director for Community Engagement
gabriela_gamiz@hmc.edu
909.607.4575

Brian Gray

Assistant Director for Community Engagement and Homework Hotline Coordinator
brian_gray@hmc.edu
909.607.4015


Office of Institutional Diversity

Sumun L. Pendakur, EdD

Associate Dean for Institutional Diversity
sumun_pendakur@hmc.edu
909.607.1865

Angelica Ibarra

Assistant Dean for Institutional Diversity
angelica_ibarra@hmc.edu
909.607.3470

Office of Career Services

Judy Fisher

Director of Career Services
judy_fisher@hmc.edu
909.607.2972

Heidi Bird

Assistant Director
hbird@hmc.edu

Jonie Tsuji

Career Counselor
jonie_tsuji@hmc.edu

Elizabeth Saelzler

Program/Employer Relations Coordinator
elizabeth_saelzler@hmc.edu
909.621.8091