HMC Presidential Search Committee Contracts with SpencerStuart

Share story

HMC Community:

Happy New Year! We wish everyone a healthy new year as we move into the spring semester.

We write today to share that the Presidential Search Committee has spent the last several weeks selecting a search firm. After interviewing three top-notch search firms and serious deliberations over two meetings, we have unanimously chosen to engage SpencerStuart, a highly distinguished firm for executive searches in higher education with extensive experience in comprehensive national searches.

SpencerStuart is focused on recruiting exceptional leaders for mission-driven colleges and universities and has a proven track record of success at institutions such as Middlebury College, Penn State, Pomona College and Williams College. Their values align with ours, including a strong commitment to equity and diversity, and they will actively work with our community to identify the qualities, background and experience of the ideal candidate. In addition to academia, they also serve industries including engineering, energy, natural resources and technology, to name a few. We look forward to SpencerStuart’s guidance and support as we navigate the process of identifying HMC’s sixth president. The team members are: Michele Haertel, Kristine Johnson and Ponneh Varho.

This spring, SpencerStuart will work with the Presidential Search Committee to solicit perspectives from the College community regarding our aspirations for Harvey Mudd College during the next 10 years and, consequently, the strengths important for the next president. From there, we will write a position profile to guide the candidate development process. This position profile will be adopted by the Search Committee and shared with the community and potential candidates. The Presidential Search Committee will provide updates as the search progresses. To contact the committee, please email [email][/email].

On behalf of the Presidential Search Committee,

Jim Bean ’77, Chair of the Board of Trustees