Office of the Dean of Faculty

Norman F. Sprague Center

Norman F. Sprague Center

About the Dean’s Office

The Office of the Dean of Faculty oversees the academic program, supports the faculty in their teaching and research, administers existing academic programs and explores new teaching and learning initiatives. We share in the College’s mission to provide a top-notch science and engineering education within a liberal arts context, so that our graduates are uniquely prepared to lead in their fields and understand their impact on society.

The Dean of the Faculty and Staff

Vice President and R. Michael Shanahan Dean of the Faculty

Tom DonnellyTom Donnelly

Sprague 403
909.621.8122 (main office)
donnelly@hmc.edu

Associate Dean of Faculty

Kathy Van Heuvelen

Kathy Van Heuvelen

Sprague 412
909.607.9019
vanheuvelen@g.hmc.edu

Associate Dean of Special Projects

Bill Daub

Bill Daub

Sprague 413
909.607.4476
daub@g.hmc.edu

Executive Assistant to the Dean of Faculty

Esther HughesEsther Hughes

Sprague 403
909.621.8122
hughes@hmc.edu

Administrative and Budget Coordinator for Academic Affairs

Carissa SaugstadCarissa Saugstad

Sprague 403
909.607.0667
csaugstad@hmc.edu

Administrative Assistant for Academic Affairs

Tom DonnellyAndrea Caldera

Sprague 403
909.621.8340
acaldera@hmc.edu

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Marianne de LaetMarianne de Laet

Office (by appointment) Parsons 1275 or Division of Student Affairs
909.621.8125 (Kim Nykanen in DSA) 909.607.3812 (de Laet Parsons office)
delaet@g.hmc.edu or academicdeans-l@g.hmc.edu
Marianne’s Calendly

  • Collaborates with the Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs, the Associate Dean for Academic Resources and Student Success, and the Director of Learning Programs in providing support for student academic success.
  • Serves as the ultimate academic adviser at the College.

Director of Academic Programs/Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs

Elizabeth ConnollyElizabeth Connolly

Keck 1226 or Department of Student Affairs
909.607.2087 or 909.621.8125
connolly@g.hmc.edu or academicdeans-l@g.hmc.edu
Elizabeth’s Calendly

Assistant Vice President of Institutional Research and Effectiveness

Laura Palucki BlakeLaura Palucki Blake

Sprague 101
909.607.8191
lpblake@hmc.edu

  • Partners with academic and administrative units to develop and manage comprehensive institutional research, assessment and strategic planning to support the curricular, analytical, informational, reporting needs of the college.
  • Coordinates and manages the WASC accreditation process, including serving as the institution’s liaison to the accrediting agency; assisting in the implementation of programmatic and assessment modifications and improvements.

Aye Mon Htut-RosalesAye Mon Htut-Rosales

Associate Director of Institutional Research & Effectiveness 
909.621.8751
ahtutrosales@hmc.edu

  • Works with a wide range of offices and individuals across campus to conduct, manage, and support the accurate and timely collection and dissemination of information across the college.
  • Provides data and statistics to internal and external audiences and manages HMC’s program of teaching evaluations.

Kevin BiancoKevin Bianco

Assistant Director of Institutional Research & Effectiveness
909.621.8925
kbianco@hmc.edu

  • Provides technical, organizational and analytical support for data reporting needs of the college.
  • Works with both the Office of the Registrar and the Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness to define, develop and document data resources and processes that support institutional planning, analysis and process improvement.

Assistant Vice President of Sponsored Research and Projects

Colleen Coxx

Colleen Coxe

Sprague 406
909.607.7015
ccoxe@hmc.edu

  • Manages the College’s comprehensive corporate relations program to promote the College within the corporate sector.
  • Works closely with clinic directors and the academic community in the implementation of the Clinic Program, including assembling the annual project portfolio.
  • Develops partnership opportunities and funding sources to support college-based needs and programs.

Kelly Barker

Assistant Director of Special Projects
Sprague 410
909.607.0898
kbarker@hmc.edu

  • Coordinates special events, campus tours, and other corporate, sponsor and donor-related stewardship activities.
  • Handles administrative and budget details for corporate relations unit.

Nicole Wallens

Associate Director of Sponsored Research
Sprague 409
909.607.2843
nwallens@hmc.edu

Senior Director of Learning Programs

Wendy Menefee-LibeyWendy Menefee-Libey

Shanahan 1472
909.607.3626
menefee@hmc.edu

  • Oversees the Harvey Mudd Writing Center and stewards the College’s core writing program.
  • Oversees the Academic Excellence Program.

Registrar and Assistant Vice President for Student Information Management

Mark AshleyMark Ashley

Sprague first floor
909.621.8090
meashley@hmc.edu

Nabel Villafaña

Nabel Villafaña

Associate Registrar
Sprague first floor
nvillafana@g.hmc.edu

Shane McCormick

Shane McCormick

Assistant Registrar
Sprague first floor
smccormick@g.hmc.edu

Kevin Bianco

Kevin Bianco

Research Associate
Sprague first floor
kbianco@g.hmc.edu

Kamren Brown

Technical Assistant
Sprague first floor
kabrown@g.hmc.edu

Director of the Scott A. McGregor Center Makerspace, Louisa and Robert Miller Professor of Humanities

Jeffrey GrovesJeffrey D. Groves

Scott A. McGregor Center
Ground floor
909.607.7346
groves@hmc.edu

Kim Neal

Kim Neal

Manager of the Makerspace
Scott A. McGregor Center
Ground floor
909.607.1545
kneal@hmc.edu

Director of Upward Bound

Angie AguilarAngie Covarrubias Aguilar

Platt Campus Center [downstairs]
909.621.8123
covarrubias@hmc.edu

  • Supervises Upward Bound staff, conducting staff meetings, staff training and evaluation, and personnel management.
  • Coordinates all programs and student academic assessment activities.
  • Organizes outreach efforts to parents, target school staff, the Harvey Mudd community, local community organizations, summer mentors and supporting agencies and programs.

Curator, Bates and Harvey Mudd Aeronautics Heritage Library

Michael Palmer

Sprague 401
909.621.8128
palmer@hmc.edu