Presidential Search Committee Members Announced

Share story

Dear College Community:

Since President Maria Klawe’s announcement that she will not seek renewal of her contract once her current term ends June 30, 2023, the Harvey Mudd College Board of Trustees has begun the search for the sixth president of the College. During this initial stage of the process, we have focused on the search committee membership and the search firm selection.

We cannot overstate the importance of the search committee membership and have taken deliberate steps to maintain our strong commitment to institutional shared governance and establish an inclusive committee comprised of board members, faculty, staff, students and alumni. Chair of the Board Jim Bean ’77 met with students, faculty and staff in September and put out a call for nominations for committee members in October.

Based upon nominations and recommendations from the community, the Harvey Mudd College Board of Trustees held a special meeting November 12 and unanimously approved the 2021–2023 Harvey Mudd College Presidential Search Committee:

Jim Bean ’77, board and search committee chair
Justin Christian P25, board of trustees
Joe Connolly, board of trustees
Sydney Cornell ’23, student
Tom Donnelly, chair of the faculty
Andrew Dorantes, staff
Kathleen Fisher, board of trustees
Shamit Grover ’05, board of trustees
Elaine Hart ’06, alumna
Lelia Hawkins, faculty
Nancy Lape, faculty
Laura Larson P20, board of trustees
Mo Omar, faculty
Laura Palucki Blake, staff
Gregory Rae ’00, AABOG president
Mavis Stone ’23, student
Darryl Wright, faculty

Karen Angemi, director of the president’s office and secretary to the board, will provide administrative support for the search.

As we move forward with the search process, we will begin to review proposals from various executive search firms that specialize in recruiting exceptional leaders in higher education. We believe Harvey Mudd College is in a very competitive position to attract a diverse pool of very strong, talented candidates. We have launched a website to share the committee’s progress with the HMC community. Once the committee has met and selected a search firm, we will work with the community to gather input about what characteristics you believe should be considered as we deliberate candidates for the position. We expect the selection of the search firm to take place before the start of the spring semester.

In these moments of transition, we want to thank you for your patience and contributions as we proceed with this important task.

From the entire board of trustees, we express our gratitude and warmest regards.

Jim C Bean
Jim Bean ’77
Chair of the Board of Trustees
Harvey Mudd College