Klawe Named 2019 AWM Fellow

Share story

Harvey Mudd College President Maria Klawe was named a 2019 Fellow of the Association for Women in Mathematics, an honor which recognizes researchers, mentors and educators who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to the support and advancement of women in the mathematical sciences.

Klawe will be recognized during the Association of Women in Mathematics reception at the 2019 Joint Mathematics Meetings.

“This class of AWM Fellows was selected from a stellar group of people who have shown extraordinary dedication to creating a more inclusive mathematics community,” wrote AWM president Ami Radunskaya.

Klawe was honored for “exceptional impact on the advancement of girls and women in the mathematical sciences and in science and engineering more broadly, through her leadership in academia, industry, professional societies, and institutes, her fostering of innovative programs, and her influential research in computer science,” according to the award citation.

“I am honored to be named a Fellow of the AWM, an organization that does so much to promote and support women in mathematics, and delighted to join in celebrating the many people who work hard to make the field more inclusive and welcoming for all who want to pursue a career in math,” said Klawe.

The 2019 Class of AWN Fellows includes Hélène Barcelo (Mathematical Sciences Research Institute) Lida Kittrell Barrett (retired professor, former president of the Mathematical Association of America), Sun-Yung Alice Chang (Princeton University), Amy Cohen (Rutgers University), Ingrid Daubechies (Duke University), Chandler Davis (University of Toronto), Jacqueline Dewar (Loyola Marymount University), Edray Herber Goins (Pomona College), Judy Green (Marymount University), Pao-sheng Hsu (Independent), Ellen E. Kirkman (Wake Forest University), Maria M. Klawe (Harvey Mudd College), Anne M. Leggett (Loyola University Chicago), Magnhild Lien (California State University, Northridge), Maeve Lewis McCarthy (Murray State University), Dusa McDuff (Barnard College, Columbia University), Irina Mitrea (Temple University), Alice Silverberg (University of California, Irvine), Audrey Terras (University of California, San Diego), Marie A. Vitulli (University of Oregon), Judy Leavitt Walker (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), Lesley Ward (University of South Australia) and Ulrica Wilson (Morehouse College).

Maria Klawe began her tenure as Harvey Mudd College’s fifth president in 2006. Prior to joining HMC, she served as dean of engineering and professor of computer science at Princeton University. Klawe joined Princeton from the University of British Columbia where she served in various roles from 1988 to 2002. Prior to UBC, Klawe spent eight years with IBM Research in California and two years at the University of Toronto. She received her PhD (1977) and BSc (1973) in mathematics from the University of Alberta. Klawe is a board member of the Alliance for Southern California Innovation, the nonprofit Math for America, the chair of the board of the nonprofit EdReports.org, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and a trustee for the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute in Berkeley. She is the recipient of the 2014 Women of Vision ABIE Award for Leadership and the 2017 Academic Leadership Award from the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

Read the full citations of the 2019 Class of AWM Fellows.