Limon Receives Binder Prize for Exceptional Service

Share story

Registrar Coordinator Diana Limon is this year’s recipient of Harvey Mudd College’s Mary G. Binder Prize, which honors outstanding support staff.

Now in her seventh year at Harvey Mudd, Limon began working in the Department of Facilities and Maintenance then became registrar coordinator in 2022, shortly after being named an Outstanding Staff Member. At the time, nominators noted that Limon “always goes above and beyond her duties, with a cheery disposition and willingness to help.”

Limon says, “I’m grateful for everyone that I have met along the way and for those who have encouraged me to never give up.”

The Binder Prize honors a member of HMC’s support staff “who combines a record of exceptional service with a truly helpful and friendly attitude toward students, faculty and fellow staff members all across the College.” The prize was established in 1996 by engineering Professor Emeritus Sam Tanenbaum and his wife, Carol, in honor of Carol’s mother. It includes a $1,000 award and commemorative certificate, and Limon’s name will be added to the Mary G. Binder Prize plaque in the foyer of Galileo Hall.

The 2024 Binder Prize Committee members were Daniel Guerra, 2023 Mary G. Binder Prize winner and chemistry laboratory and stockroom manager; Theresa Lauer, senior director for facilities, emergency preparedness and safety; Miguel Ruvalcaba, senior director for dining services; Werner Zorman, Annenberg Professor of Leadership, engineering; Georgia Klein, student representative; and Adele Vuong, senior administrator for business affairs and risk management.