Harvey Mudd College Honor Code

Harvey Mudd College’s Honor Code is a matter of trust and team play. It is not a class in ethics or a set of rules dictated by the faculty. It’s a way of life, created and governed by students—respected by everyone. The Honor Code is based on the simple premise that, given the chance, people will do the right thing.

The Official Standard of Conduct

The Honor Code states that students are expected to act as responsible individuals, to conduct themselves with honesty and integrity both personally and academically and to respect the rights of others. The College considers these standards to be essential to its academic mission and its community life.

What the Honor Code Means for Our Students

The Honor Code means closed-book exams in your dorm room. It means that during lunch at Hoch-Shanahan Dinning Commons, you’ll see unattended bikes, skateboards, unicycles, book bags containing laptop computers and other personal possessions. It means having an expensive calculator returned to you after you left it behind in the lab. And it also means 24-hour student access—via card swipes—to state-of-the-art computers, labs, studios and shops.

Why the Honor Code Works

Students come to Mudd because they’re serious about getting a great education. When you come to campus, you’ll find an atmosphere that encourages honesty and cooperation. Students are immersed in an environment that reduces grade competition, in which freshmen experience their first semester at Mudd with a “High Pass/Pass/No Pass” grade system. Each Mudder has made a decision to join a community whose members act with honesty and integrity.

Honor Board Members

Judiciary Board Chair – Alex Ozdemir ’17 (aozdemir@hmc.edu).

Disciplinary Board Chair – Micah Pedrick ’17 (mpedrick@hmc.edu).

Senior Class – Samantha Hoang (shoang@hmc.edu), Calvin Leung (cleung@hmc.edu), Patrick McKeen (pmckeen@hmc.edu), Paige Rinnert (prinner@hmc.edut), Joseph Sinopoli (jsinopoli@hmc.edu), and Ruth Sung (rsung@hmc.edu).

Junior Class – Benjamin Garbuz (bgarbuz@hmc.edu), Varsha Kishore (vkishore@hmc.edu), Jacob Roth (jroth@hmc.edu), Nicholas Sakowski (nsakowski@hmc.edu), Charles van Eijk (cvaneijk@hmc.edu), and Josephine Wong (jowong@hmc.edu).

Sophomore Class – Charles Dawson (cdawson@hmc.edu), Morgan Frisby (mfrisby@hmc.edu), Theodore Hansel, (thansel@hmc.edu), and Chi-Yen (John) Lee (johlee@hmc.edu).

Freshman Class – no one’s been elected yet!