Student Experience Working Group

The Student Experience Working Group will identify ways to improve the overall student experience at Harvey Mudd, with a particular focus on co-curricular activities. As Harvey Mudd welcomes and embraces an increasingly diverse student population and strives to prepare students for lives of meaning, purpose and active citizenship, the committee will examine the educational challenges and opportunities that exist beyond Harvey Mudd’s formal classrooms.

Focus Questions

  • How can we support the mental health and wellbeing of our students so they can fully thrive?
  • How can we harness the full potential of our residential community to maximize learning, success and satisfaction of all students?
  • How can Harvey Mudd better foster a vibrant social environment and reduce the negative impact of substance abuse?
  • As an institution that has made a commitment to access and increasing the diversity of its student body, what additional actions could be taken to promote a stronger sense of community and belonging for all students?
  • What will residential life need to look like to meet students’ expectations in the next decades?
  • How can high-impact global educational experiences support the exploration of scientific topics through a global lens?
  • How can we equip students with the tools and skills needed to build a joyful life while at Harvey Mudd and after they graduate?

Working Group Members

Art Benjamin, Smallwood Family Professor of Mathematics

Angie Covarrubias Aguilar, Program Director, Upward Bound

Kathy French ’97, President, Alumni Association Board of Governors (AABOG)

Michelle Harrison, Associate Dean for Health and Wellness

Aye Htut-Rosales, Associate Director of Institutional Research and Effectiveness

Fred Leichter, Clinical Professor of Engineering and Executive Director, Rick and Susan Sontag Center for Collaborative Creativity (The Hive)

Kim Nykanen, Executive Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students

Chris Sundberg, Associate Dean for Students and Director of Campus Life

Kayleah Tsai ’24, ASHMC President, student representative

Adele Vuong, Senior Administrator for Business Affairs and Risk Management