Imagining Harvey Mudd Working Group

This Committee will focus on big ideas, however unconventional, that have the potential for transforming the direction or operations of the College and the education it provides its students.

Focus Questions

  • How should we prepare for technological, demographic, social, legislative or financial forces on the horizon that will drive major changes in what we do?
  • How can we foster operational excellence around existing programs and elevate the best to national models in STEM education?
  • How can we best use the campus infrastructure during summers in service to STEM access and opportunity?
  • How might we foster connections and networks to forge impactful partnerships that propel us toward our fullest potential?
  • Are there additional programs, departments, centers, or institutes that would benefit the College?

Working Group Members

Colleen Coxe, Assistant Vice President for Sponsored Research and Projects

Bruce DePriester ā€™74, Member, Board of Trustees

Ken Fandell, Michael G. and C. Jane Wilson Chair in Arts and the Humanities and Professor of Art

Sharon Gerbode, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Physics

Stephanie Graham, Acting Chief Communications Officer

Karl Haushalter, Seeley Wintersmith Mudd Professor of Chemistry and Biology and Chair, Department of Chemistry

Haydee Lindo, Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Julie Medero, Associate Professor of Computer Science and Associate Chair, Department of Computer Science

Steven Santana ā€™06, Iris and Howard Critchell Assistant Professor of Engineering and Director, Engineering Clinic

Kim Stafford, Interim Vice President for Development

Kathy Van Heuvelen, R. Michael Shanahan Professor of Chemistry and Associate Dean of the Faculty