HSA Statement of Solidarity

The Harvey Mudd College Department of Humanities, Social Sciences, and the Arts stands in solidarity with the Black community and with all those marching for the dignity and humanity of Black life. We affirm that Black Lives Matter.

We condemn white supremacy and police brutality. We demand accountability and justice for the extrajudicial murders of Black people by police violence. We stand against all forms of systemic racism and injustice, and in this moment we are deeply saddened about the disproportional targeting of Black lives.

We commit to challenging the complicity of academic institutions and disciplines in anti-Black racism through our teaching, research, and acts of citizenship.

William Alves, Professor of Music
Isabel Balseiro, Professor of Comparative Literature
David Cubek, Associate Professor of Music
Ambereen Dadabhoy, Assistant Professor of Literature
Marianne de Laet, Professor of Anthropology and Science, Technology, and Society
Erika Dyson, Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Gary Evans, Professor of Economics
Kenneth Fandell, Professor of Art
Alfred Flores, Assistant Professor of Asian American Studies
Anup Gampa, Assistant Professor of Psychology
Jeff Groves, Professor of Literature
Vivien Hamilton, Associate Professor of the History of Science
Charles Kamm, Associate Professor of Music
Leah Manning, Visiting Assistant Professor of Psychology
Rachel Mayeri, Professor of Media Studies
Salvador Plascencia, Assistant Professor of Creative Writing
David Seitz, Assistant Professor of Cultural Geography
Paul Steinberg, Professor of Political Science and Environmental Policy
Kyle Thompson, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Darryl Wright, Professor of Philosophy