Internships and Awards

Donald and Dorothy Strauss Internship for Social Understanding

The Strauss Internship for Social Understanding is a 10-week summer internship program designed for HMC students interested in working with a community service organization.

Interested students design an internship with a local community service agency of their choice. After identifying an agency, students then work with the agency’s supervisor to design an internship that meets the needs of both the student and the agency.

Find out more about eligibility and requirements (PDF)

Application deadline is March 21, 2014

Ben Huppe ’14 Memorial Internship for a Sustainable World

The Ben Huppe Internship fund is intended to provide financial support that will aid HMC students who are pursuing summer work opportunities through (otherwise unpaid) internships with small- to medium-sized non-profit organizations.

The internship should involve direct, hands-on work in areas such as renewable energy, “green” technologies, and environmental sustainability, and/or use technology to solve problems of under-served populations domestically or internationally.

Find out more about eligibility and requirements (PDF)

Application deadline is February 28, 2014

Napier Initiative Fellowship Award

The Napier Initiative Fellowship is a partnership between Pilgrim Place and the five undergraduate Claremont Colleges to encourage leadership for social change. Students with interest and experience in working for peace, social justice, and environmental sustainability connect with residents of Pilgrim Place who have life experience and professional skills in those fields.

The Awards are given to three graduating seniors from each college who demonstrate outstanding leadership promise in these areas. All students nominated by the schools will be named Napier Fellows and will have the opportunity for a one-year mentoring relationship with Pilgrim Place residents having a significant vocational affinity with the nominees.

Three award recipients will be chosen from the nominees by a selection panel at Pilgrim Place. Recipients chosen for the Napier Award must complete proposed Napier project in the first year after graduation.

Visit Napier Initiative for information on eligibility and application process. For additional information and questions, contact Professor Haushalter ( and or Gabriela Gamiz (

Dean Chris Sundberg Prize Award

This annual award was established by Dana Mohamed ’06 to recognize a rising junior who demonstrates exceptional leadership and a positive impact on the Harvey Mudd College community.

The prize nominee should be an ambassador of the College’s mission statement and honor code, and should contribute to creating “enhanced college experiences” for other students on campus. The recipient of the Dean Chris Sundberg Prize will be awarded $500. Nominations for the Dean Chris Sundberg Prize award will open in mid-March 2014.