Chemistry Outstanding Alumni Awards

The Harvey Mudd College Alumni Association Board of Governors (AABoG) selected these chemistry majors to receive the Outstanding Alumni Award for their significant contributions to developments in the science and technology fields.


Fred Brander ’73

Fred Brander is owner and general manager of the Brander Vineyard in Los Olivos, California. Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Brander emigrated at age 12 with his family to the U.S., settling in Santa Barbara, California. After graduating from Harvey Mudd (chemistry), he earned an M.S. from University of California Davis, where he studied enology. While attending college, he started his own small wine import company, bringing in wines from France and Argentina. Established by Brander and his family in 1975, the Brander Vineyard sits on 43 acres in the Santa Ynez Valley and produces mostly Sauvignon Blanc and a small selection of red wines. The first vintage of Brander Sauvignon Blanc arrived in 1977 and won a gold medal at the L.A. County Fair in 1978, becoming the first Santa Barbara wine to do so.

Craig Niederberger ’82, M.D.

Craig Niederberger is the Clarence C. Saelhof Professor and Head of the Department of Urology at the University of Illinois at Chicago; he also holds a joint appointment as professor in the Department of Bioengineering in the College of Engineering at UIC. As a professor of urology and bioengineering, he oversees undergraduate and graduate engineering and medical students, and urology residents and fellows. In UIC’s Innovation Center, an intercollege research and design lab, his students work on the surgical user interface, helping surgeons more accurately see, feel and operate. He is a co-founder of the surgical device company NexHand. Niederberger is also an active contributor to several prominent journals as well as an active participant in urologic societies. He is co-editor in chief of Fertility and Sterility, served as the lead survey section editor and is the survey section infertility editor for the Journal of Urology. A chemistry/theater alumnus, he received his medical training at University of Pittsburgh and completed his residency and fellowship training at Michael Reese Hospital in Chicago and Baylor College of Medicine.

2016/Jennifer Holmgren ’81
2015/Andrew Lees ’76
2014/Kenneth J. Livak ’74
2014/Tyrel M. McQueen ’04
2013/Michael Sailor ’83
2011/Ann McDermott ’81
2010/Phillip D. Szuromi ’80
2007/Frank Cummings ’62
2003/Don Murphy ’68
2003/Gerald R. Van Hecke ’61

Lifetime Recognition Award

The Lifetime Recognition Award honors outstanding dedication to Harvey Mudd College over many years.

2016/Gerald R. Van Van Hecke ’61
2013/Sally Siemak ’72

Order of the Wart

“Warts” are the square, protruding cement blocks that decorate most HMC building facades, and they hold special meaning for alumni. This award recognizes a job well done and is awarded to those who have made significant contributions to the alumni of Harvey Mudd College.

1988/Donald Gross ’61
1988/Jennifer Holladay ’79