HMC Concert Series: Corax Quartet–Piano Quartets by Brahms and Walton

April 1, 2018 Add to Calendar

7 p.m.


Shanahan Center, Drinkward Recital Hall
320 E. Foothill Blvd.
Claremont, CA 91711


Drinkward Recital Hall, 320 East Foothill Boulevard, Claremont
Full HMC Arts listing.

Harvey Mudd College presents
Corax Quartet: Piano Quartets by Brahms and Walton

The Corax Quartet—violist Cynthia Fogg, cellist Roger Lebow, pianist Stephan Moss and violinist Jonathan Wright—performs sparkling chamber music featuring Johannes Brahms' dramatic third quartet for piano and strings and William Walton’s exhilarating piano quartet.

Piano Quartet in C minor, op. 60 by Johannes Brahms (1833-97)
Allegro non troppo
Scherzo - Allegro
Finale - Allegro comodo

Quartet by William Walton (1902-83)
Allegro scherzando
Andante tranquillo
Allegro molto

Like their namesake, the Raven, the members of the Corax Quartet gather to socialize and play. The raven is regarded in some cultures as an omen and in others as a trickster. The group says, "It is hoped that our play is as enjoyable for the audience as it is for us and is in no way an omen of misfortune."